Buy new:
$17.81
FREE delivery Thu, Oct 6 on your first order. Details
Or fastest delivery Tue, Oct 4. Order within 8 hrs 45 mins. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to Listen? Try Audible.
[{"displayPrice":"$17.81","priceAmount":17.81,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"17","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"81","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"vuTsQ1D0%2B3g8VDleekFJ3yKHZVrQYes3HQXwhqp4hlnJOzZ6dcGaspW1QcFMV7R7bJodd4o5oELQdZVs7yMT4PS1uFmUi8pRNQQ41qi2gxf54kro6Pv8GHu%2BL3EgnbwgvlYI0OxwWqE%3D","locale":"en-CA","buyingOptionType":"NEW"}]
$$17.81 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$17.81
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Share <Embed>
Have one to sell?
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle app

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Beasts of Prey Paperback – June 28 2022

4.6 out of 5 stars 440 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback
$17.81
$14.10 $18.10

Enhance your purchase

Frequently bought together

$17.81
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
$13.92
Only 9 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
$15.89
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items ship sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

From the Publisher

ew
Beasts of Prey cover Beasts of Ruin cover
Beasts of Prey Beasts of Ruin
In this blockbuster fantasy series, perfect for fans of Kingdom of the Wicked and Iron Widow, fate binds two Black teenagers together as they journey into a magical jungle to hunt down a vicious monster. In this much anticipated follow up to New York Times bestselling Beasts of Prey, Koffi’s powers grow stronger and Ekon’s secrets turn darker as they face the god of death.

Product description

Review

Praise for Beasts of Prey:
An Instant New York Times Bestseller
An Indie Bestseller
A 2022 Bank Street Best Children’s Book of the Year
A 2022 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Pick

A 2021
Kirkus Best Book
A 2021 New York Public Library Best Book Pick
A 2021 Chicago Public Library Best Book Pick
A 2021
Tor.com Young Adult Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror Best Book Pick
A 2021 Parade Best YA Book Pick
A 2021 Black Caucus American Library Association Best of the Best Booklist Pick
An Apple Best Book of the Month Pick – October 2021

An Amazon Best Book of the Month – October 2021
An Indie Next Pick

Rich and powerful.” —O, The Oprah Magazine

"The hunt for
your next YA fantasy book trilogy obsession has ended." —Entertainment Weekly

“A
propulsive mystery mixed with a moving coming-of-age tale and a touch of romance, Beasts of Prey asks: When we go into the jungle, who will we be when we come out?” —The New York Times Book Review

“A
new epic fantasy series.” —POPSUGAR

“Step into the
lush, magical jungles of your new young-adult fantasy obsession. . . Much more than just your standard hero’s journey, Beasts of Prey is a story of courage, friendship, and community that’s as inspiring as it is exciting.” —Apple Books Review

★ “This pan-African story, rife with betrayal and narrated through
poetic language that evokes vivid imagery, will ensnare readers, keeping them engaged with its energetic pace. The beautiful blend of mythology, romance, and action ends with a hint at more to come… A dazzling debut.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

★ “Gray's debut is
a thrilling series opener with twists and turns that will delight. Hints about more expansive world building to come will entice readers to pick up future volumes in this must-buy for fantasy enthusiasts.” —Booklist, starred review

★ “With its
memorable characters, and a lush, expansive world, Gray’s debut is an action-packed adventure that will tug at hearts and keep teens glued to the page, yearning for more. Essential for all collections.” —School Library Journal, starred review

Rich in magic and mythos, Beasts of Prey is a feast for all the senses. Prepare to be transported to Koffi’s world from the first page and find yourself lost not only in the dark thrill of the hunt but the poignant beats of emotion at the heart of this story. Gray’s writing is lyrical,her imagery vivid. I eagerly await whatever she pens next.” —Renée Ahdieh, New York Times bestselling author of The Beautiful

A fast-paced, rip-roaring ride that grabs you by the throat and never lets you go. A masterpiece of magic.” —Namina Forna, New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Ones

Epic doesn’t begin to encompass the jolting twists, sparkling mythos, and magical quests that fill the pages of Beasts of Prey. This is the sort of read that’s beyond transportive; it’s downright transcending—a tale full of heart and magic, and sure to ensorcell readers' body, bone, and soul.” —Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Wolves

“In this
wildly original debut, Gray marries the lush imaginative wonder of African mythology with an action-packed tale of two teens on the opposite ends of fate, figuring out what’s truly worth fighting for. Swoony, twisty, action-packed, Beasts of Prey is as epic as it is unforgettable.” —J. Elle, New York Times bestselling author of Wings of Ebony

"
A delight. I rarely fall in love with characters as quickly as I did with Koffi and Ekon. Gray masterfully balances the wonder and uncertainty of youth with a deftly, fully imagined world that I was dying to learn more about." —S. A. Chakraborty, author of the critically acclaimed and internationally bestselling The Daevabad Trilogy
 
"Ayana Gray’s
wonder-filled world of mythos and monsters and magic comes to life in the ensnaring, enchanting Greater Jungle. An unputdownable tale that unfolds in a maze of twists and turns, driven by the crackling wit of two protagonists on a quest to vanquish the beasts of their present and past.” —Amélie Wen Zhao, author of the Blood Heir trilogy

A magical, bingeable debut by a phenomenal new voice in YA. Beasts of Prey is an immersive and heartfelt book with characters whose personalities seep from the pages. From its beautiful prose to its rich and vibrant world, this bookis your next favorite read.” —Adalyn Grace, New York Times bestselling author of All the Stars and Teeth

"
Steeped in rich worldbuilding and resonating with keenly drawn emotional depth, Beasts of Prey features masterful twists, heart-pounding action, and unforgettable characters you will want to follow to the end of the world and back. I grew lost in this book from the very first page." —Margaret Rogerson, bestselling author of Sorcery of Thorns

“Gray’s pan-African fantasy is
filled with monsters, mythos, and Black girl magic. Her characters are well developed, and the plot is filled with African lore, expanded upon in an extensive author’s note. Fans of Forna’s The Gilded Ones and Ifueko’s Raybearer will enjoy this engrossing debut novel.” —The Horn Book

“The protagonists achieve a
rich emotional depth complemented by the fast-paced action, and a light romantic element lends the plot additional support. . . imaginative debut.” —Publishers Weekly

One of the hottest young-adult books . . . It’s a thrill-packed premise that Gray elevates with crisp prose, surefooted pacing, and detail-rich worldbuilding. She weaves the markers of daily life, history and culture into scenes that crackle, painting her characters’ existence for her readers as clearly as she depicts physical action and emotional depth. It’s undeniably powerful storytelling.” —Book & Film Globe

A great quest full of blood and betrayal.” —Tor.com

About the Author

Ayana Gray is a New York Times bestselling young adult fantasy author and a lover of all things monsters, mythos, and magic. Originally from Atlanta, Georgia, she now lives in Little Rock, Arkansas, where she reads avidly, follows Formula One racing, and worries over the varying moods of her adopted baby black rhino, Apollo, and her mini goldendoodle, Dolly. Her debut novel, Beasts of Prey, is being adapted for feature film.
 

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers (June 28 2022)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 528 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0593405706
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0593405703
  • Item weight ‏ : ‎ 476 g
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.97 x 3.66 x 20.96 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 440 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Ayana Gray is an author of speculative fiction and a lover of all things monsters, mythos, and #MelaninMagic. Originally from Atlanta, she now lives in Little Rock, Arkansas where she reads avidly, follows Formula One racing, and worries over the varying moods of her adopted baby black rhino, Apollo, and her mini goldendoodle, Dolly. Her debut novel, BEASTS OF PREY, is being adapted for film by Netflix.

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
440 global ratings

Top review from Canada

Reviewed in Canada on November 3, 2021
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Debt!!!!!
By Ginerva on November 3, 2021
Disclaimer: I Bought This Book from Chapters Indigo Via a Gift Card :)

What an Incredible Debt Novel by Ayana Gray!!!!

it is So Well Written and AMAZING. I Started Reading This Book Yesterday and i Finished it Almost a Hour Ago . MINDBLOWN
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image

Top reviews from other countries

LibLob-x
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredible World Building
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 9, 2022
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Basic Bibliophile
2.0 out of 5 stars Colorful world paired with a lackluster plot.
Reviewed in the United States on September 30, 2021
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Delta High School Library
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawed main characters, mythology and an unexpected twist. What's not to love?
Reviewed in the United States on November 29, 2021
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Can I say colorful?
Reviewed in the United States on December 22, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Dario
5.0 out of 5 stars Such an amazing book!
Reviewed in the United States on October 14, 2021
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse