Kindle Price: CDN$ 11.99

Save CDN$ 3.00 (20%)

includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle app

Crier's War by [Nina Varela]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Crier's War Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 2,201 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
$11.99
Next 2 for you in this series See full series
Total Price: CDN$23.98
By clicking on the above button, you agree to Amazon's Kindle Store Terms of Use
Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers CA
Price set by publisher.

Books In This Series (2 Books)
Complete Series
Crier's War
Kindle Edition

Product description

Review

Crier’s War is a beautiful poem of a book. Fans of both fantasy and sci-fi: this book is for you.” -- Tara Sim, Author of the Timekeeper Trilogy

“Dizzying political machinations intertwine with a burgeoning romance. The plot zooms ahead with nail-biting tension. A fresh, suspenseful take on the robot apocalypse.” --
Kirkus Reviews

“Rife with mystery, romantic tension, and political intrigue, Varela’s debut novel is perfect for readers craving queer fantasy with dense world building.” --
Booklist

“A lush #OwnVoices fantasy debut with science fiction elements and LGBTQIA+ representation, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass.” -- School Library Journal

“Masterful storytelling, woven with gorgeous poetic prose. You can’t help but be lured into this vividly imagined world. As heart-wrenching as it is unforgettable.” -- Erin Summerill, author of the Clash of Kingdoms trilogy

"Captivating political machinations among intricately linked characters create a suspenseful read with particular appeal to fans of queer romance." --
Publishers Weekly

“This interesting mesh of sci-fi and fantasy situates androids within court intrigue, enhanced with a steamy, well-paced lesbian romance that will make readers impatient to nab the next novel.” -- Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
--This text refers to the paperback edition.

From the Back Cover

IMPOSSIBLE LOVE BETWEEN TWO GIRLS—ONE HUMAN, ONE MADE.

A LOVE THAT COULD BIRTH A REVOLUTION.

After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, took over the estates of their owners and bent the human race to their will.

Now Ayla, a human servant rising in the ranks at the house of the sovereign, dreams of avenging the death of her family . . . by killing the sovereign’s daughter, Lady Crier. Crier, who was Made to be beautiful, to be flawless. And to take over the work of her father.

Crier had been preparing to do just that—to inherit her father’s rule over the land. But that was before she was betrothed to Scyre Kinok, who seems to have a thousand secrets. That was before she discovered her father isn’t as benevolent as she thought. That was before she met Ayla.

Set in a richly imagined fantasy world, Nina Varela’s debut novel is a sweepingly romantic tale of love, loss, and revenge that grapples with what it really means to be human.

--This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B07MDRY4XK
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Quill Tree Books; Reprint edition (Oct. 1 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 5968 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 434 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 2,201 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Nina Varela was born in New Orleans and raised on a hippie commune in Durham, North Carolina, where she spent most of her childhood running barefoot through the woods. These days, Nina lives in Los Angeles with her tiny, ill-behaved dog. She tends to write stories about weird magick, girls in love, and young people toppling monarchies. You can find Nina at any given coffee shop in the greater Los Angeles area, or at www.ninavarela.com.

Visit Nina at:

www.ninavarela.com

twitter.com/ninavarelas

instagram.com/ninavarelas_

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
2,201 global ratings

Top reviews from Canada

Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on May 1, 2022
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on May 19, 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on March 30, 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on November 17, 2021
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on February 6, 2020
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on December 29, 2019
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on December 13, 2019
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on November 4, 2019

Top reviews from other countries

Haley R. Flores
4.0 out of 5 stars Human and Automae
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on March 11, 2020
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Kat Davis
5.0 out of 5 stars So brilliant my cats wanted to read it
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on May 28, 2021
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars So brilliant my cats wanted to read it
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on May 28, 2021
This was a brilliant read. It's definitely character driven in the first half and them moves more into being plot driven. Usually, I find character driven stories somewhat boring unless they are written exceptionally well. This was written very well indeed, Varela's prose is almost lyric and it stands out as a character of its own in this novel. I was intrigued by the characters and their interactions. The dialogue, while simple, was perfect. It fit the characters like a second skin. I stayed up late into the night reading simply for the pleasure of the words and how Varela carved unique descriptions with them. I could feel the emotions as they poured off the page. I cared about the characters and I was with them through their journey. I am excited for the 2nd book in the series and would recommend this to anyone who enjoys fantasy adventure with two women as main characters.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Jude
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Gay Have Angst
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on April 19, 2022
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
kat42
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on March 19, 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Chloe M
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on April 16, 2020
Verified Purchase
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?