Kindle Price: CDN$ 11.99

Save CDN$ 3.00 (20%)

includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle app

Dread Nation by [Justina Ireland]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Dread Nation Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 1,337 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
$11.99
Next 2 for you in this series See full series
Total Price: CDN$23.98
By clicking on the above button, you agree to Amazon's Kindle Store Terms of Use
Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers CA
Price set by publisher.

Product description

Review

“This highly anticipated release is getting lauded as equal parts exciting, terrifying, and oh-so-relevant. Crackles on every page.” (Brightly)

“Ireland delivers a necessary, subversive, and explosive novel with her fantasy-laced alternate history that does the all-important work of exploring topics of oppression, racism, and slavery while simultaneously accomplishing so much more. Brilliant and gut-wrenching.” (Booklist
(starred review))

“Abundant action, thoughtful worldbuilding, and a brave, smart, and skillfully drawn cast entertain as Ireland (
Promise of Shadows) illustrates the ignorance and immorality of racial discrimination and examines the relationship between equality and freedom. Mounting peril creates a pulse-pounding pace, hurtling readers toward a nail-biting conclusion.” (Publishers Weekly (starred review))

“Will catch readers off-guard with its blend of genres: it starts out as an historical thriller but then tosses in hard hits of mystery, dystopian reimagining, romance, and humor. Jane’s voice reads familiar to more contemporary considerations of Black girlhood, with elements such as beauty standards, colorism, and friendships.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
(starred review))

“This absorbing page-turner works on multiple levels: as unflinching alternate history set in post-Reconstruction-era Maryland and Kansas; as a refreshingly subversive action story starring a badass heroine; as zombie fiction suspenseful; and as a compelling exhortation to scrutinize the racist underpinnings of contemporary American sociopolitical systems.” (Horn Book
(starred review))

“Ireland skillfully works in the different forms of enslavement, mental and physical, into a complex and engaging story. A perfect blend of horrors real and imagined, perfect for fans of The Walking Dead.” (School Library Journal
(starred review))

“Tremendously original, subversive, sharp, and all around badass,
Dread Nation is not your mother’s Civil War–era zombie story.” (Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Dumplin’)

Dread Nation is everything I love—it’s beautiful, unflinching, lyrical, tender, and vividly imagined. Don’t miss this book!” (Ann Aguirre, New York Times bestseller and coauthor of Honor Among Thieves)

“This is the zombie novel I’ve been waiting for my whole life.” (Kate Elliott,
New York Times bestselling author of Court of Fives) --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

From the Back Cover

Jane McKeene was born two days before the dead began to walk the battlefields of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania—derailing the War between the States and changing the nation forever. In this new America, safety for all depends on the work of a few, and laws like the Negro and Native Reeducation Act require certain children attend combat schools to learn to put down the dead. But there are also opportunities, and Jane is studying to become an Attendant, trained in both weaponry and etiquette to protect the well-to-do. It’s a chance for a better life for Negro girls like Jane. 

But that’s not a life she wants. Almost finished with her education at Miss Preston’s School of Combat in Baltimore, Jane is set on returning to her Kentucky home and doesn’t pay much mind to the politics of the eastern cities, with their talk of returning America to the glory of its days before the dead rose. But when families around Baltimore County begin to go missing, Jane is caught in the middle of a desperate fight against some powerful enemies. And the restless dead, it would seem, are the least of her problems.

At once provocative, terrifying, and darkly subversive, Dread Nation is Justina Ireland’s stunning vision of an America both foreign and familiar—a country on the brink, at the explosive crossroads where race, humanity, and survival meet.

--This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B071RQX7W9
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Balzer + Bray (April 3 2018)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 2406 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 418 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 1,337 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Justina Ireland is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous books, including Dread Nation, Deathless Divide, and the Scott O’Dell Award winning middle-grade, Ophie’s Ghosts. She is also the author of numerous Star Wars books and one of the story architects of Star Wars: The High Republic. You can find her work wherever great books are sold and you can find her on Twitter as @justinaireland or at her website justinaireland.com.

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
1,337 global ratings

Top reviews from Canada

Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on December 9, 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on August 10, 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on June 3, 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on April 9, 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on January 5, 2019
Verified Purchase
VINE VOICE
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on November 1, 2021

Top reviews from other countries

S. Naomi Scott
4.0 out of 5 stars A superbly written tale that will stay with you.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on July 2, 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
N Harvey
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, so different and refreshing!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on June 13, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
amysreading_nook
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too much world-building
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on February 10, 2020
Verified Purchase
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie western
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on June 9, 2020
Verified Purchase
Emma
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully well written and super diverse!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on June 13, 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?