Kindle Price: CDN$ 18.99

Save CDN$ 17.00 (47%)

includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle app

Impact: How Rocks from Space Led to Life, Culture, and Donkey Kong by [Greg Brennecka]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Impact: How Rocks from Space Led to Life, Culture, and Donkey Kong Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 19 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
$18.99
Due to its large file size, this book may take longer to download

Product description

Review

"A witty and compelling account of the many unexpected ways space rocks have impacted life on Earth. Brennecka's enthusiasm for his subject is utterly contagious." -- Lewis Dartnell, professor and author of Origins: How the Earth Shaped Human History

"A fine intro for star-gazing newbies." --
Publishers Weekly

"In this highly entertaining book, filled with informative and humorous charts, diagrams, and images...Brennecka's enthusiasm for meteorites will appeal to experts and novices alike." --
Kirkus Reviews

“Brennecka successfully tackles a niche corner of the popular science genre where anthropology meets astrophysics. His knowledge and wit come together in an excellent debut that will appeal to readers of Munroe, Neil deGrasse Tyson, and Carl Sagan.” --
Library Journal

“Meteoriticist Brennecka explains all things meteor to the layperson with enthusiasm and humor. He blends a thorough explanation of meteorites with pop culture references that make
Impact enjoyable and easy to read.” -- Booklist

"Greg Brennecka is a meteoriticist with a sense of humor and a flair for making complex topics both understandable and entertaining. While the scope of Impact is impressive and far-reaching, Brennecka’s clear, succinct narrative style makes for fascinating reading throughout." -- BookPage (starred review)

“Brennecka demonstrates with irrepressible enthusiasm how much we have learned about the universe from analyzing the space rocks that fall to Earth.” --
Wall Street Journal --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Greg Brennecka, PhD is a staff scientist and cosmochemist at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. After his doctoral work at Arizona State University, Greg received the prestigious Sofja Kovalevskaja fellowship from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation to study the early Solar System at the Institute for Planetology in Münster, Germany, where he led the “Solar System Forensics” group for five years. His research has appeared in ScienceNature, and Proceedings of the National Academy of Science. Greg lives in the Livermore Valley wine country and fully enjoys the local flavors.

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B095SQ372G
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ William Morrow (Feb. 1 2022)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 51992 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 304 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 19 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Discover more of the author’s books, see similar authors, read author blogs and more

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
19 global ratings
5 star
41%
4 star
41%
3 star
17%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%

Top reviews from Canada

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from Canada

Top reviews from other countries

Wizard of WID
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute Writing about meteorites
Reviewed in the United States on April 27, 2022
Verified Purchase
Robert Gray
5.0 out of 5 stars Meteors for dunmies
Reviewed in the United States on August 23, 2022
Verified Purchase
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?