Buying Options

Kindle Price: CDN$ 11.99

Save CDN$ 10.01 (46%)

includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle app

The Last Resort by [Marissa Stapley]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Last Resort Kindle Edition

3.9 out of 5 stars 437 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
$11.99
Hardcover
$113.38

Product description

About the Author

Marissa Stapley is a journalist and the author of the acclaimed novel Mating for Life. She writes page-turning, deeply emotional fiction about families, friends, and women’s lives. She lives in Toronto with her family.

--This text refers to the audioCD edition.

Review

Praise for The Last Resort

Shortlisted for the Arthur Ellis Award

“Featuring vivid, heart-pounding storytelling and a compelling depiction of the heartbreaking ways that long-term abuse can destroy your will, Stapley's latest is an excellent beach read for anyone who loves romantic suspense.”
— 
Booklist

The Last Resort harnesses women’s anger. . . . The story’s emotional core is wrapped in a taut thriller.” 
Toronto Star

“Gripping. . . . Stapley shows a real knack for suspense.”
— 
Publishers Weekly

“Atmospheric and evocative, Marissa Stapley’s
The Last Resort brings together a cast of characters with secrets as destructive as the hurricane threatening the island, and explores how far we’ll go to keep the truth buried. Fast-paced, expertly plotted, and highly entertaining, this novel is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty!”
KARMA BROWN, bestselling author of Come Away with Me

“Stapley pulls off a tale that’s both spine-chilling and heartwarming. How she does it is as intricate a mystery as
The Last Resort’s plot. You won’t be needing a bookmark.”
CHRISTINA DALCHER, bestselling author of Vox

“A cult-like couples’ retreat is an alluring backdrop for a cast of complex and damaged characters navigating their way through marital strife. The secrets, lies, and psychoses revealed will keep readers rapt as they hurtle toward a climax of biblical proportions. A rollicking thrill-ride!”
ROBYN HARDING, internationally bestselling author of The Party and The Arrangement

“With artfully creative storytelling,
The Last Resort leads us down the dark rabbit warren of other people’s marriages and asks the best question of all: How well do you really know the person you’re living with? This novel is an exciting addition to the psych thriller world—with an emotionally complex twist.”
ROZ NAY, bestselling author of Our Little Secret

The Last Resort has all the ingredients for an impossible-to-put-down thrill ride of a read—but it’s also got something more: well-developed characters who feel intensely real, polished prose that never descends into the trite or predictable, and authentic emotional heft. It will fascinate you, enlighten you, break your heart and mend it again. Read this book!”
— 
JENNIFER ROBSON, internationally bestselling author of Somewhere in France and The Gown

“Stapley's writing is fast-paced while still cutting deep. I burned through the book, but it will stay with me.
The Last Resort is all of these things: a nail-biter, a page-turner, a thoughtful, powerful exploration into who we are in relationships and on our own. It's like literary fiction and killer suspense were left on an island together and the outcome was an incredible book."
LAURIE PETROU, author of Sister of Mine

"Nothing is as it seems in Marissa Stapley’s tense and tightly paced thriller,
The Last Resort. Fans of Agatha Christie will surely love this modern whodunit from the first to the very last page. One to add to your “to read” list now.”
HANNAH MARY McKINNON, author of The Neighbors and Her Secret Son

“A gripping and compelling story that explores the dark secrets buried within three marriages. Deeply addictive and simmering with tension,
The Last Resort had me breathlessly turning the pages all the way through to its explosive conclusion.”
LUCY CLARKE, author of The Blue

“Deeply unsettling and emotionally resonant,
The Last Resort is psychological suspense at its best, from the damaged couples seeking to repair their broken marriages, to the captivating backdrop of an island resort in the midst of a hurricane. Marissa Stapley delivers a twisty, expertly written mystery you can sink your teeth into.”
KAREN KATCHUR, author of River Bodies

Praise for Things to Do When It’s Raining

“A story worth savoring.”
 Hello Magazine

“Commercial fiction at its best. Compelling, heartfelt and well-crafted. A gem of a page-turner.”
Toronto Star 

“The intensity of the lasting love and friendship between Gabe and Mae is emotionally powerful and finely wrought, and Stapley complements this story about the difficult choices family members make for those they love with an evocative setting.”
Publishers Weekly

“A charming tale with an enchanting setting, Stapley’s latest (after 
Mating for Life, 2014) is an engaging read about keeping secrets, starting over, and loving the family you choose.”
— 
Booklist

“Evocative, wise and infused with heart. A deeply moving story about family, love and loss, the novel shows how secrets can either haunt us or set us free, depending on who we trust them with. One of my favorite books this year!”
KARMA BROWN, bestselling author of Come Away with Me

“Has heart and soul and guts, and it has achingly beautiful prose and characters so dear and real I couldn’t bear to say goodbye when I reached its final page. It’s a book about friendship and secrets, grief and regret, the peculiar shape of families and the redemptive nature of love. And it is, quite frankly, one of the best books I have read in a very long time.”
JENNIFER ROBSON, bestselling author of Moonlight over Paris

“Fans of Nicholas Sparks will adore 
Things to Do When It’s Raining, an irresistible tribute to first love, second chances and the powerful legacy of the past. Elegant and heartfelt, Marissa Stapley’s writing is a gift.”
PAM JENOFFNew York Times bestselling author of The Orphan's Tale --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B07PRDDNQV
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Simon & Schuster (June 18 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 6407 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 332 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.9 out of 5 stars 437 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Marissa Stapley is an award-nominated journalist and the bestselling author of the novels Mating for Life (2014), Things to Do When It's Raining (2018) and The Last Resort (2019), which is an Oprah Magazine, New York Post, US Weekly and Parade Magazine favourite. Her writing has appeared in newspapers and magazines across North America, including the Globe and Mail, National Post, Toronto Star, Reader's Digest, Elle and Today's Parent. She has taught creative writing and editing at the University of Toronto and Centennial College. She lives in Toronto with her family. Follow her on Twitter and Instagram @marissastapley or like her page on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/MarissaStapleyAuthor/) for updates and contests!

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5
437 global ratings

Top reviews from Canada

Reviewed in Canada on August 12, 2019
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Canada on December 19, 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Canada on August 6, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Canada on July 22, 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Canada on July 12, 2019
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Canada on June 19, 2019
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Canada on July 29, 2019
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Bbooks
3.0 out of 5 stars Harmony at the resort.not!!
Reviewed in the United States on December 7, 2020
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
brown7672
2.0 out of 5 stars Last resort
Reviewed in the United States on August 6, 2019
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Felix
4.0 out of 5 stars Triggers warnings
Reviewed in the United States on July 10, 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Caroline Williams
5.0 out of 5 stars secrets exposed
Reviewed in the United States on August 29, 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
C. Pugh
1.0 out of 5 stars Good for Laughs
Reviewed in the United States on June 2, 2022
Verified Purchase
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?