Kindle Unlimited
Unlimited reading. Over 2 million titles. Learn more
OR
Kindle Price: CDN$ 5.35

Save CDN$ 14.56 (73%)

includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle for Web.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle app

Light to the Hills: A Novel by [Bonnie Blaylock]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Light to the Hills: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 9,315 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
$5.35

Love in the air, coffee in their cup
Popular Highlights in this book

From the Publisher

Product description

From the Publisher

Being from the Appalachian region myself, I was immediately drawn into the rich, atmospheric mountain setting of Bonnie Blaylock’s incredible debut novel about the family we choose. A strong sense of the resiliency, kindness, pride, and familial love of the Appalachian people truly shines through in this heartening story set in the 1930s about human connection and the power words can hold.

Light to the Hills follows three strong female leads, including Amanda Rye, a single mother looking to provide for her young son as a packhorse librarian delivering books with her trusty mule, Junebug. On her route, she meets the stalwart Rai MacInteer, her spunky twelve-year-old daughter Sass, and her charming son Finn. An immediate friendship is born and Amanda begins to feel like she has an extended family for the first time in years. However, when a threat from Amanda’s past resurfaces, endangering the MacInteer family as well, the three women become allies in a mission to protect their loved ones.

At its heart,
Light to the Hills is a love story to Appalachia, to literacy and the gift of words, and to a group of people who have little in the way of material possessions yet so much to give the world and each other. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes’s The Giver of Stars or Kim Michele Richardson’s The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek, this heartwarming novel transports readers to the misty mountains of Kentucky and introduces a cast of unforgettable characters who exemplify resilience and hope.

—Alicia Clancy, Editor

About the Author

After changing locations frequently in a military family, Bonnie Blaylock finally put down roots in Tennessee, where she co-owned a veterinary practice with her husband for twenty years. They live on a small-acre farm where they raise chickens, donkeys, and bees, and they achieved a family goal to travel to all fifty states before their children graduated. Bonnie writes about the South, family, growth, and more on her personal blog and is a contributing writer for various online publications. A graduate of the University of Tennessee, she lives near Nashville. Learn more at www.bonnieblaylock.com.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B09QPL7XT5
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Lake Union (Dec 1 2022)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 5789 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 271 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,315 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

After 20 years of co-owning a veterinary practice while raising two kids, traveling extensively, and living on a few acres where she wrangles the bees, the garden, and various barnyard beasts, Bonnie focused on her first love of words and writing (and put that MA in creative writing from UT to use). It's these experiences, as well as growing up in a large military family, from which she draws material for story ideas. She hosts a blog of personal essays, many of which have been re-published on various platforms.

Light to the Hills won the 2021 Porch Prize in fiction award. Bonnie is currently at work on her third novel.

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
9,315 global ratings

Top reviews from Canada

Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on January 28, 2023
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on December 3, 2022
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Sarah Brown
3.0 out of 5 stars Mountain librarian
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on November 1, 2022
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Jill Grainger
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and evocative
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on November 10, 2022
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on November 23, 2022
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Yvonne
5.0 out of 5 stars engaging
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on January 20, 2023
Verified Purchase
Closet Romantic
4.0 out of 5 stars A good story and mostly well written.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on November 5, 2022
Verified Purchase
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?