Kindle Price: CDN$ 13.99

Save CDN$ 11.00 (44%)

includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle app

A Master of Djinn: a novel (Dead Djinn Universe Book 1) by [P. Djèlí Clark]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

A Master of Djinn: a novel (Dead Djinn Universe Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 2,981 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
$13.99

Books In This Series (2 Books)

From the Publisher

Product description

Review

Locus Award Winner!
A 2022 RUSA Reading List Fantasy Winner
A 2021 NEIBA Book Award Finalist
World Fantasy Award Nominee
Salt Lake County Library System Reader's Choice Award Nominee
A Best of 2021 Pick in SFF for Kobo

Included in NPR’s Favorite Sci-Fi And Fantasy Books Of The Past Decade (2011-2021)


“Clark reconfigures history with a keen, critical eye toward gender, class, and imperialism. An epic tale of magic and mystery, this is sure to wow.
" - Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Clark deftly explores colonialism and the history of Cairo with an immersive setting that acts as another character in this delightful combination of mystery, fantasy, and romance. Give this to alternate history enthusiasts and mystery readers who enjoy a dose of the magical.
" - Booklist, starred review

“What a wonderful world P. Djélì Clarke has created here ― an Arab world never colonized, where magic-powered trams glide through a cosmopolitan Cairo and where djinns make mischief among humans.” - NPR

“With its richly imagined world and characters and its high-stakes and thrilling plot, this novel would make such a fantastic show in the vein of
The Nevers and Carnival Row, but better.” - Buzzfeed

“A clever, wickedly fun steampunk mystery with an excellent balance of humor and heart. I loved it.” - S. A. Chakraborty, internationally-bestselling author of
The City of Brass

A Master of Djinn is everything you might expect from Clark: cinematic action, a radical reimagining of real history, and magic on every page. I loved it.” - Hugo Award winner Alix E. Harrow, author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January

“A delightful whodunnit full of sly commentary and a wonderfully lived-in steampunk Cairo. The perfect read when I needed a break from this world to enjoy one wholly made from Clark's enviable imagination.”
- Hugo and Nebula Award-winning Rebecca Roanhorse, author of Trail of Lightning and Star Wars: Resistance Reborn

A Master of Djinn has all the tricky twists I want in a police procedural and all the djinns, magic and wonder I want from fantasy.” - Mary Robinette Kowal, Hugo and Nebula award-winning author of The Calculating Stars

“Fascinating! I love the intricate alt-history world of
A Master of Djinn, with its hints at the changed destinies of nations and ordinary people alike after the cataclysmic return of magic to the world. Clark gives us an engaging mystery with a wonderful mix of the fantastic and the mundane, chain-smoking crocodile gods, stuffy marid librarians, and a brilliant heroine with a dashing bowler.” - Django Wexler, author of The Thousand Names

“Alternate historic Cairo comes to vivid life in Clark's first novel. His cosmopolitan city includes not only humans from all around the world, but supernatural creatures aplenty. When their interests and agendas collide, the result is the kind of book you don't want to put down.”
- World Fantasy and Hugo Award finalist Marie Brennan

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

About the Author

Born in New York and raised mostly in Houston, P. DJÈLÍ CLARK spent the formative years of his life in the homeland of his parents, Trinidad and Tobago. He is the author of the novel A Master of Djinn and the novellas Ring Shout, The Black God’s Drums, and The Haunting of Tram Car 015. He has won the Nebula, Locus, and Alex Awards and been nominated for the Hugo, World Fantasy, and Sturgeon Awards. His stories have appeared in online venues such as Tor.com, Daily Science Fiction, Heroic Fantasy Quarterly, Apex, Lightspeed, Beneath Ceaseless Skies, and in print anthologies, including Griots, Hidden Youth, and Clockwork Cairo. He is also a founding member of FIYAH Magazine of Black Speculative Fiction and an infrequent reviewer at Strange Horizons. --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08HKXS84X
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Tordotcom (May 11 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 4393 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 438 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN ‏ : ‎ 1250267668
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 2,981 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Phenderson Djéli Clark is the author of the novel A Master of Djinn, and the award-winning and Hugo, Nebula, and Sturgeon nominated author of the novellas Ring Shout, The Black God’s Drums and The Haunting of Tram Car 015. His short stories have appeared in online venues such as Tor.com, Heroic Fantasy Quarterly, Beneath Ceaseless Skies, and in print anthologies including, Griots and Hidden Youth. You can find him on Twitter at @pdjeliclark and his blog The Disgruntled Haradrim.

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
2,981 global ratings

Top reviews from Canada

Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on May 12, 2022
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on June 15, 2022
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on May 27, 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on June 7, 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on April 2, 2022
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on May 18, 2021

Top reviews from other countries

Colin Murtagh
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so masterful
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on April 3, 2022
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Lagoon
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate magic carpet ride.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on May 11, 2021
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Rev. Andy
2.0 out of 5 stars An interesting idea done very poorly
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on April 9, 2022
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent worldbuilding adds to rather than takes away from the plot
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on August 26, 2022
Verified Purchase
Malcolm R
4.0 out of 5 stars Joyously uninhibited
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on December 16, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?