Included with a Kindle Unlimited membership.
Buy new:
$17.53
List Price: $21.25
Save: $3.72 (18%)
FREE delivery Wednesday, May 25 on your first order. Details
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to Listen? Try Audible.
[{"displayPrice":"$17.53","priceAmount":17.53,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"17","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"53","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"OCvkVRJl4OHEVXjxgIQpFww58pZ5x5YwaKQfDaS9XXs%2F%2FB30Es3IR7XHWAaCBegeRE%2F79qsg8ETBvUt3f3GE84Am1KWGUdXG9X3n8NyjqPk%2B%2BjL6gZ6aXbiCVR96WbycqFQ7XkBhllo%3D","locale":"en-CA","buyingOptionType":"NEW"}]
$$17.53 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$17.53
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Share <Embed>
Have one to sell?
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle app

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Pale-Faced Lie: A True Story Paperback – Illustrated, Oct. 14 2019

4.4 out of 5 stars 7,184 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback, Illustrated
$17.53
$17.53 $11.99
Great on Kindle
Great Experience. Great Value.
iphone with kindle app
Putting our best book forward
Each Great on Kindle book offers a great reading experience, at a better value than print to keep your wallet happy.

Explore your book, then jump right back to where you left off with Page Flip.

View high quality images that let you zoom in to take a closer look.

Enjoy features only possible in digital – start reading right away, carry your library with you, adjust the font, create shareable notes and highlights, and more.

Discover additional details about the events, people, and places in your book, with Wikipedia integration.

Get the free Kindle app: Link to the kindle app page Link to the kindle app page
Enjoy a great reading experience when you borrow the Kindle edition of this book with your Kindle Unlimited membership. Learn more about Great on Kindle, available in select categories.

Enhance your purchase

Frequently bought together

  • The Pale-Faced Lie: A True Story
  • +
  • If You Tell: A True Story of Murder, Family Secrets, and the Unbreakable Bond of Sisterhood
  • +
  • High Achiever: The Incredible True Story of One Addict's Double Life
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

From the Publisher

Product description

Review

"This painful memoir . . . delivers a truthful and ultimately empowering missive about the long shadow cast by an abusive parent."--Publishers Weekly

"For fans of Tara Westover's Educated, The Pale-Faced Lie: A True Story is a disturbing yet captivating memoir of how one man's psychopathic delusions can imprison an entire family . . . an empowering memoir."--New York Journal of Books

"Crow's memoir is cinematically gripping. . . . An extraordinary remembrance that's both gut-wrenching and inspiring."--Kirkus Reviews

"A hard-hitting, gut-punch memoir that should be on any reading list about family relationships and abuse, true crime, and Native American culture and interrelationships."--Midwest Book Review

"The Pale-Faced Lie by David Crow is one of the most enlightening and entertaining true stories I have ever read. . . . Every page brings new action and excitement, delivered with easy dialogue and sincerity. If you're looking for an absorbing and touching read, grab The Pale-Faced Lie today."--Readers' Favorite (5 stars)

"A compellingly and graphically written memoir about a supremely dysfunctional family."--David Steinberg, Albuquerque Journal

"It's hard to imagine a worse childhood than author David Crow and his siblings experienced. But his compelling and heart-wrenching memoir rises above the horror as a powerful testimony to the enduring strength of the human spirit. Crow's skill as a writer and his amazing lack of self-pity make this true story even more engaging."---Anne Hillerman, New York Times best-selling author

"The Pale-Faced Lie is a hard and brilliantly insightful look into dealing with the hand we're dealt and improving it."--Joe R. Lansdale, award-winning author of over 40 novels, including Paradise Sky and Cold in July

"[Crow] has considerable wisdom to impart, and an unexpected ending that will linger in memory. I promise that you've never read a book quite like this one."--Jeff Guinn, New York Times best-selling author

"Heartbreaking and gut-wrenchingly honest. Anyone with a troubled childhood should read The Pale-Faced Lie. David Crow's book is proof that hope rises from the ashes."--Chris Enss, New York Times best-selling author

"A memoir of an extraordinary life that is lifted by extraordinary storytelling. . . . emotionally engaging, consistently entertaining, and nearly impossible to put down."--James Anderson, author of The Never-Open Desert Diner and Lullaby Road

"The Pale-Faced Lie is as gripping as some of the best-selling fiction books ever written. David Crow's amazing true story is hard to read, but even harder to put down. I missed one of my own deadlines because I didn't want to stop reading!"--Sherry Monahan, award-winning author of The Golden Elixir of the West; Tinsel, Tumbleweeds, and Star-Spangled Celebrations

"A riveting account of a world turned upside down. A very visual, engaging, and well-written book that will make the reader cringe, cry, and cheer for a boy on a treacherous journey to adulthood. Couldn't put it down."--Felix F. Giordano, best-selling author of the Jim Buchanan novels

"A dramatic tale of strength, learning, love, and hate. You won't be disappointed."--Mark Reps, author, Zeb Hanks: Small Town Sheriff Big Time Trouble series

About the Author

David Crow spent his early years on the Navajo Indian Reservation in Arizona and New Mexico. Through grit, resilience, and a thirst for learning, he managed to escape his abusive childhood, graduate from college, and build a successful lobbying firm in Washington, DC. Today, David is a sought-after speaker, giving talks to various organizations around the world. Throughout the years, he has mentored over 200 college interns, performed pro bono service for the charitable organization Save the Children, and participated in the Big Brothers Big Sisters program. An advocate for women, he will donate a percentage of his royalties from The Pale-Faced Lie to Barrett House, a homeless shelter for women in Albuquerque. David and his wife, Patty, live in the suburbs of DC.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Sandra Jonas Publishing; Illustrated edition (Oct. 14 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 356 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0997487151
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0997487152
  • Item weight ‏ : ‎ 449 g
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.97 x 2.26 x 21.59 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 7,184 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

DAVID CROW spent his early years on the Navajo Indian Reservation in Arizona and New Mexico. Through grit, resilience, and a thirst for learning, he managed to escape his abusive childhood, graduate from college, and build a successful lobbying firm in Washington, DC. Today, David is a sought-after speaker, giving talks to various businesses and trade organizations around the world. Throughout the years, he has mentored over 200 college interns, performed pro bono service for the charitable organization Save the Children, and participated in the Big Brothers Big Sisters program. An advocate for women, he donates a percentage of his royalties from “The Pale-Faced Lie” to Barrett House, a homeless shelter for women in Albuquerque. David and his wife, Patty, live in the suburbs of DC.

Website: davidcrowauthor.com | FB: @authordavidcrow | T: @author_crow | IG: @davidcrowauthor

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
7,184 global ratings

Top reviews from Canada

Reviewed in Canada on September 5, 2020
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Canada on October 27, 2020
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Canada on January 16, 2021
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Canada on May 19, 2021
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Canada on September 15, 2020
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Canada on August 23, 2020
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Canada on March 9, 2020
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Canada on January 23, 2022
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

B. Crosby
2.0 out of 5 stars So you aided and abetted a possible homicide?
Reviewed in the United States on September 13, 2019
Verified Purchase
802 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Roger Dodgson
5.0 out of 5 stars It is not just the people’s of colour that have been treated badly.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 5, 2020
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
sjoyjoy
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 7, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
R. W. Kent
5.0 out of 5 stars A triumph out of despair
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 15, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
evosticky
5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 28, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse