FREE delivery Fri, Sep 30 on your first order. Details
Or fastest delivery Today. Order within 2 hrs 22 mins. Details
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app.
[{"displayPrice":"$17.33","priceAmount":17.33,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"17","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"33","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"IgZCX%2BXlt90XbyNmkQ3SFZwWPn6A%2FjQm5WLg78w6LaoSio%2FQXwAR7In0f9qbiicplGmlVBH2w5JcueAlabejN73U2xuyH0fX4SaFEal5E3rhX08mVdmu%2BlBEHLzFtQSt%2FDaW9fz0spA%3D","locale":"en-CA","buyingOptionType":"NEW"},{"displayPrice":"$11.45","priceAmount":11.45,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"11","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"45","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"GpNt%2FecKAJdCPjq%2FoWkqCaYXr1Iw9C2beY8d3bsoPtzwJiIexQ3D6tTMgEXHV6QKeRKqKlJceDAYl90JLqbvWERpGR8fouz%2F%2FvoXOKS0xU7XuZur4iHdzXDL%2FctS2aZQx1OHKPJpfg8XpeuUp3tcIrK%2Fo5MAipvj%2BXMTAtQTvVkcQQ5Tu3NeJA%3D%3D","locale":"en-CA","buyingOptionType":"USED"}]
$$17.33 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$17.33
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
FREE delivery Oct 11 - 21. Details
Pre-owned: Very Good | Details
Condition: Pre-owned: Very Good
Comment: May have limited writing in cover pages. Pages are unmarked. ~ ThriftBooks: Read More, Spend Less
Share
Have one to sell?
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle app

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Stargazing Paperback – Illustrated, Sept. 10 2019

4.8 out of 5 stars 889 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback, Illustrated
$17.33
$12.20 $11.19

Enhance your purchase

Frequently bought together

  • Stargazing
  • +
  • The Okay Witch (Volume 1)
  • +
  • Nightlights
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items ship sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

From the Publisher

Product description

Review

“Intimate and sweet. I’d like to hand Stargazing to every kid I know.”
―Raina Telgemeier, #1 New York Times bestselling author of
Smile

“Touching, funny, and sweetly observed, Stargazing is everything a graphic novel should be. Jen Wang is a master cartoonist.”
―Vera Brosgol, award-winning author of
Be Prepared and Anya’s Ghost

“Just beautiful.
Stargazing is warm and funny and packed with shout outs and nods to the Asian American experience. It feels SO wonderful to be seen!”
―Kelly Yang, award-winning author of
Front Desk

“Like a constellation, when you connect confusion, friendship, and hope, suddenly everything becomes clear. Jen Wang’s Stargazing will have you laughing and crying as it takes you to the stars and back.”
―Lisa Yee, award-winning author of
Millicent Min, Girl Genius

“A charming tale of friendship that feels familiar and comforting. Jen Wang is a gift to comics.”
―Nidhi Chanani, author of
Pashmina

"This graphic novel explores the strength of friendship and how kids from the same culture can be vastly different."―
The Washington Post

"Wang gives her characters distinct voices while also allowing the art to speak, creating expressive, thoughtful moments... These deliberate choices lead to a dynamic story that is both hopeful and emotionally affective." ―
Shelf Awareness Pro and Shelf Awareness for Readers, starred review

"Wang’s art is as expressive and fluid as ever, ripe with playful detail...and the muted color palette, contributed by colorist Lark Pien, casts the book in a nostalgic glow. Plumbing the depths of Wang’s childhood for inspiration, this rich, heart-filled narrative will resonate with any reader who has ever felt different within their community." ―
Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Wang tells a story that will ring true to just about any middle-schooler who’s dealt with shifting friendships, but her additional insights into navigating differences within the Chinese American community will be a balm to readers in similar situations." ―Booklist, starred review

"It is so very rare and refreshing to see diversity within the Asian American community authentically portrayed; Wang allows each character complete ownership of their identity, freeing their truths and, in the process, allowing readers to do the same. A shining gem of a book." ―
Kirkus, starred review

"Relying on a muted palette and careful linework, Eisner Award nominee Wang has crafted an understated, poignant tale of the joy and turmoil of budding friendship...With this spot-on glimpse into the emotional landscape of tweens, Wang joins the ranks of middle grade masters Shannon Hale, Raina Telgemeier, and Cece Bell." ―
School Library Journal, starred review

"Every character in
Stargazing is approached kindly, with an understanding of how complex people are and the sheer variety they offer... It’s an ideal approach to a middle-grade book, and a near-perfect read." ―The AV Club

"Family and friendship dynamics are portrayed honestly and realistically, but the focus of the story is kept tightly on the two main characters... A natural for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Jennifer L. Holm, and Victoria Jamieson." ―
Horn Books

"The book comes to life thanks to the vividness of its two main characters, Christine and Moon...Wang is pitch-perfect when it comes to complex relationship dynamics and the subtleties of growing up Asian in America. Her art is a supple balance of quirkiness and relatability." ―
NPR

About the Author

Jen Wang is a cartoonist, author and illustrator living in Los Angeles. She is the author of The Prince and the Dressmaker, Koko Be Good, and co-author of the New York Times Bestselling graphic novel In Real Life with Cory Doctorow. Her work has also appeared in Los Angeles Magazine, The Believer, Hazlitt, Slate, and McSweeney’s. She has also written for the Adventure Time and Lumberjanes comic series. She is the co-founder and organizer of the annual festival Comics Arts Los Angeles.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ First Second; Illustrated edition (Sept. 10 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 224 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 125018388X
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1250183880
  • Item weight ‏ : ‎ 401 g
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 14.1 x 1.91 x 20.19 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.8 out of 5 stars 889 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

JEN WANG is a cartoonist and illustrator living in Los Angeles. She is the co-author of the New York Times Bestselling graphic novel IN REAL LIFE (First Second) with Cory Doctorow, KOKO BE GOOD (First Second), and the upcoming THE PRINCE AND THE DRESSMAKER (First Second/February 2018). Her work has also appearred in Los Angeles Magazine, Hazlitt, Slate, McSweeney’s, and Portland Mercury. She is the co-founder and organizer of the annual festival COMIC ARTS LOS ANGELES.

Visit her at www.jenwang.net

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
889 global ratings

Top reviews from Canada

Reviewed in Canada on March 22, 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Canada on February 12, 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Canada on August 3, 2020
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Meera
5.0 out of 5 stars Friendship is hard!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 30, 2020
Verified Purchase
DoubleDuchDD
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional, funny and relatable
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on June 4, 2021
Verified Purchase
Josan_toño
4.0 out of 5 stars Un cómic muy bonito
Reviewed in Spain on October 23, 2019
Verified Purchase
Valerie
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming
Reviewed in Germany on November 27, 2019
Verified Purchase
Andy
5.0 out of 5 stars Lo ame
Reviewed in Mexico on May 27, 2020
Verified Purchase