Kindle Unlimited
Unlimited reading. Over 2 million titles. Learn more
OR
Kindle Price: CDN$ 5.35

Save CDN$ 14.56 (73%)

includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle for Web.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle app

The Union by [Leah Vernon]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Union Kindle Edition

3.9 out of 5 stars 1,104 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
$5.35

Hugs, kisses, and gift cards
All 1 available for you in this series See full series
See included books
Total Price: CDN$5.35
By clicking on "Buy now" you agree to Amazon's Kindle Store Terms of Use
Sold by: Amazon.com.ca, Inc.

Books In This Series (2 Books)

From the Publisher

Product description

From the Publisher

Activist and author Leah Vernon dares to imagine a world where Black citizens rule. In the vein of The Handmaid’s Tale, Vernon plays with current concepts such as race and class and places them in a dystopian future with a glimmer of hope—could a revolution be on the horizon? The Union is absorbing and disturbing but ultimately packed with love—the love the protagonists, Saige and Avi, have for each other and for humanity (what’s left of it). This novel is anything but comfortable, and I couldn’t put it down.

Underneath the current of the dystopian world of this book, set one thousand years in the future, is a tale of an unlikely friendship between Avi and Saige. They live at odds with the deeply divided overthrown United States in which they live, where race is king, citizens of the Lower Resident communities are in danger of being killed off by a deadly experiment, and anyone of mixed race is a criminal.

Avi is an elite from a powerful political family. Saige is a mixed-race worker turned fugitive after an uprising gone wrong in the lower divisions. They are not supposed to cross paths let alone become friends. Avi, who is in line to succeed her father and assume political power, becomes disillusioned by the injustice she sees around her. Saige is wiser than her years, has seen a lot, and wants nothing more than to escape. But when the two come together, their vision for themselves and for society expands. I hope you love this book as much as I did.

—Melissa Valentine, Editor

About the Author

Leah Vernon is an author, body-positive activist, and the first international plus-size Hijabi model. During her double master’s program, she started a blog about being a fat Black Muslim in Detroit experiencing everything from eating disorders to anti-Blackness. She’s been featured in ads from Target to Old Navy and even made it to the New York Times and HuffPost. She currently resides in New York City. Connect with her on Instagram (@lvernon2000) and on her website: www.LeahVernon.com.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B09MT7Y5H2
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ 47North (Dec 1 2022)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 6051 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 335 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN ‏ : ‎ 1662500351
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.9 out of 5 stars 1,104 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Leah Vernon is a plus-size Hijabi model, social media influencer, public speaker, and freelance writer. She’s been featured by Buzzfeed, Yahoo, CBS, Cosmopolitan, Marie Claire, Seventeen, and The New York Times, and worked with brands like Adidas and Lululemon. She grew up in Detroit, but currently resides in New York City. Connect with her on Instagram (@Lvernon2000) and on her website (Leahvernon.com).

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5
1,104 global ratings

Top review from Canada

Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on January 20, 2023
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Shells
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on November 17, 2022
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Toni DC
2.0 out of 5 stars I didn't make it through this! Thank goodness it was free! SPOILERS!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on November 22, 2022
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
R Smith
1.0 out of 5 stars Please get better editors
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on November 22, 2022
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Mark Lamb
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful writing - it was free and I can now see why
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on November 10, 2022
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Cicero
4.0 out of 5 stars Confusing in parts.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on December 15, 2022
Verified Purchase
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?